Menu Hamburger Logo Menu close Logo
Barcelona Travel Hacks home logo

Pyrenees Vall De Núria Resort Hotel & Restaurant Complex

Núria Resort is a winter and summer hotel restaurant mountain complex with ski slopes, ski lifts and great mountain hiking trails 5km from the French border

Updated: Aug 3, 2023 by: Barcelona Travel Hacks Views: 1.1k

About Nuria Winter and Summer Mountain resort

The Vall de Núria resort sits at an altitude of almost 1964m above sea level at the top of the Ribes Valley at junction where several mountain rivers meet and is built at the foot of an artificial lake Estany de Núria located 5km from the French border higher up in the Ripollès region of the Pyrenees mountains.

The only way to visit the Vall de Núria resort is via the Cremmallera de Nuria rack railway that leaves from Ribes de Freser and stops in Queralbs before ascending to the Núria resort.

It is also possible to walk up to Nuria from Ribes de Freser.

Vall de Núria is a fantastic place to connect with nature in summer and winter and you will find the amenities of a Mare de Déu de Núria sanctuary, the Sant Gil chapel and the Núria hotel complex with five restaurants. The resort was built for skiing and winter sports but is also a great place to use as a base for summer hiking in the Pyrenees.

The fist thing you will notice about the resort is that it is surrounded by mountains reaching almost 3000m above sea level, The highest being Puigmal. The surrounding mountains have been converted into ski slopes for all levels from Beginner skiers to advanced and off piste routes. There are also several Snow shoe routes from the sanctuary.

Núria resort has 10 alpine ski pistes (three green, three blue, two red and two black), and a special slope for sleighs, totalling 7 kilometres of marked pistes. A quad chair lift from the resort base at 1964 metres (6,444 ft), goes up to its highest point, at 2252 m.; two platter lifts serve the beginners' area; and a gondola lift, telecabina, accesses the Pic de l'Aliga hostel.

Vall De Núria Resort History

According to legend, Saint Gil, born in Athens, was appointed bishop of Nîmes. He carved the image of the Virgin Mary while living in the valley, between the years 700 to 703AD. Saint Gil evangelised the shepherds in front of a cross that he carved. Because of persecution, Sant Gil left the Virgin Mary carved statue in a cave where it remained lost.

In 1072 a man named Amadeu came from Dalmatia to search for relics of Mary. Shepherds knew the tradition of Saint Gil and helped him to raise a modest chapel (the origin of the sanctuary). In the early twentieth century Núria gained popularity for mountaineering and winter sports in Catalunya.

In 1919 The Transpirinenc Railway Barcelona to Puigcerda line arrived at Ribes de Freser. In 1928 the construction of the Rack Railway began. On the 30th December 1930 the first locomotive reached Núria and the line was inaugurated 22nd March 1931. The modern day resort was built at the same time as the rack railway.